Ballarat Regional Multicultural Council Inc. (BRMC) is the peak multicultural agency in the Central Highlands Grampians Region (CHGR).

Members include 24 Cultural Associations/Groups and numerous Individual and Associate members affiliated with BRMC.

Our mission is to work in partnership with other community organisations, cultural associations and members to actively promote multiculturalism, cultural diversity and the well-being of all migrant communities throughout the region.

Our purpose is to actively promote and develop goodwill, understanding and harmony in our culturally diverse community.

BRMC provides opportunities for all people of all cultural backgrounds to come together to celebrate multiculturalism and cultural diversity, and provides advisory services, support and advocacy for the particular needs of both older established migrant groups, plus new arrivals.

Objectives
  • To provide opportunities for people of all cultural backgrounds to come together.
  • To provide advisory services, support and advocacy for the particular needs of people of various cultural backgrounds.
  • To advocate on relevant government policy and practice at the local, state and federal level to ensure appropriate service provision.
  • To provide government and other bodies or agencies in the Ballarat region with an open channel of communication with cultural groups and organisations.
  • To promote a greater awareness of multicultural values, the contributions and the specific needs of community groups within the region.
  • To advise relevant agencies in the region on the social, legal, cultural, educational, health and welfare needs of residents of culturally diverse backgrounds with an emphasis on equitable access to services.

Our Staff

Position Name Email
Executive Officer Ann Foley eo@brmc.org.au
Strategic Engagement Coordinator Annie Dunn a.dunn@brmc.org.au
Welcome Centre Facilities Coordinator Suzanne Ryan-Evers s.ryan-evers@brmc.org.au
Finance and Compliance Annakaren Young a.young@brmc.org.au
Finance Assistant Deepti Seth d.seth@brmc.org.au
Human Resource Officer Quynh Tran q.tran@brmc.org.au
Administration Assistant Mary Edward m.edward@brmc.org.au
Communications Coordinator Janelle Swainston media@brmc.org.au
Social Support Coordinator
Teresa Azzopardi t.azzopardi@brmc.org.au
Social Support Officer Helen Bennetts h.bennetts@brmc.org.au
Social Support Assistant Natalie Athayde n.athayde@brmc.org.au
Migration & Settlement Services Mina Abdolmaleki m.abdolmaleki@brmc.org.au
Migrant English Program Coordinator
Diversity Homework Club
Good Governance
Sarabjit Kaur s.kaur@brmc.org.au
mep@brmc.org.au
goodgov@brmc.org.au
Stepping Stones Coordinator
Creative Workshops Coordinator
Deborah Klein steppingstones@brmc.org.au
d.klein@brmc.org.au
Community Engagement Team Leader Heeyoung Lim hy.lim@brmc.org.au
Community Engagement Worker Nyepuot Riek n.riek@brmc.org.au
Community Engagement Worker Abdul Rasuli a.rasuli@brmc.org.au
Community Engagement Worker Lunorphare Folly lk.folly@brmc.org.au
Thrive Garden Project Coordinator Rebecca Marsh thrive@brmc.org.au
Community Matters Project Assistant Lamourette Folly lamourette.f@brmc.org.au

All staff can be contacted on 03 5383 0613.

Executive Committee Members for 2019/2020

Position Name
Chairperson Chez Dichiera
Deputy Chair Dimitri Dollard
Treasurer Andrew Tennant
Assistant Treasurer Paul Miller
Secretary Vacant
Assistant Secretary Magdalena Kazmierczak
Public Relations Officer Bobby Mehta
Interfaith Officer Lokan Ravi
Women’s Officer Joy Juma
Youth Officer Vacant
Community Representative Navin Thomas
Immediate Past Chair Constantine Osuchukwu

General and Associate Members

Our Story

Ballarat Regional Multicultural Council, also known as BRMC, is a registered charity and a not-for-profit community service organisation. Established in 1999 BRMC is an incorporated association accountable to members through the BRMC Executive Committee.

BRMC is also accredited under the Aged Care Quality Standards.

BRMC offers a core set of services that support engagement and advocacy for new and emerging migrant communities and multicultural communities in the region, including multicultural sector coordination, settlement, community development, aged support, training and education, as well as arts and events.

BRMC manages the Ballarat Welcome Centre and a team of staff, volunteers and partners with government, community and business to promote our objectives.

Partnerships

Ballarat Regional Multicultural Council respectfully acknowledges the Wadawurrung and Dja Dja Wurrung people, their elders and community leaders, past, present and emerging
– traditional custodians of the land on which we live and work.

BRMC actively promotes intercultural and interfaith harmony. We help build inclusive and diverse communities and economies.
We work with members and partners to strengthen diversity and social cohesion in regional Victoria.

Proudly part of: