Ballarat Regional Multicultural Council Inc. (BRMC) is the peak multicultural agency in the Central Highlands Grampians Region (CHGR).

Membership currently includes 29 cultural and faith associations; 11 community, government, NGO and business sector leaders; and 48 individuals.

BRMC’s mission is to work in partnership with our members, key government and community stakeholders, and the wider Ballarat community to actively promote multiculturalism, cultural diversity, inclusion and the wellbeing of all migrant communities throughout the region.

Our purpose is to actively promote and develop goodwill, understanding and harmony in our culturally diverse community.

BRMC provides opportunities for all people of all cultural backgrounds to come together to celebrate multiculturalism and cultural diversity, and provides advisory services, support and advocacy for the particular needs of both older established migrant groups, plus new arrivals.

Objectives
  • To provide opportunities for people of all cultural backgrounds to come together.
  • To provide advisory services, support and advocacy for the particular needs of people of various cultural backgrounds.
  • To advocate on relevant government policy and practice at the local, state and federal level to ensure appropriate service provision.
  • To provide government and other bodies or agencies in the Ballarat region with an open channel of communication with cultural groups and organisations.
  • To promote a greater awareness of multicultural values, the contributions and the specific needs of community groups within the region.
  • To advise relevant agencies in the region on the social, legal, cultural, educational, health and welfare needs of residents of culturally diverse backgrounds with an emphasis on equitable access to services.

Our Staff

Position Name Email
Chief Executive Officer Ann Foley ceo@brmc.org.au
Research and Policy Coordinator Tess Altman t.altman@brmc.org.au
Operations Manager Suzanne Ryan-Evers s.ryan-evers@brmc.org.au
Community Employment Connector – Ballarat
(HR and Employment)
Quynh Tran q.tran@brmc.org.au
Community Employment Connector K’lu Say Say k.say@brmc.org.au
Community Employment Connector – Training Mina Abdolmaleki m.abdolmaleki@brmc.org.au
Diversify Local Workforce Project Coordinator Kennedy Wainaina k.wainaina@brmc.org.au
Social Support Program Manager Teresa Azzopardi t.azzopardi@brmc.org.au
Social Support Assistant Natalie Athayde n.athayde@brmc.org.au
Social Support Assistant Caroline Parry c.parry@brmc.org.au
Carer Respite Promotion Coordinator Rebecca Marsh r.marsh@brmc.org.au
Bicultural Worker Shipra Saini s.saini@brmc.org.au
Migrant English Program Coordinator
Diversity Homework Club
Good Governance
Sarabjit Kaur s.kaur@brmc.org.au
mep@brmc.org.au
goodgov@brmc.org.au
Diversity Homework Club Assistant Tahsina Tasnim t.tasnim@brmc.org.au
Program Coordinator – Stepping Stones to
Financial Wellbeing and Social Inclusion
Deborah Sonenberg d.sonenberg.org.au
Strategy and Settlement Manager Hee Young Lim hy.lim@brmc.org.au
Settlement Support Coordinator Abrar Dham a.dham@gmail.com
Settlement Program Worker Nyibol Deng n.deng@brmc.org.au
Media & Communications media@brmc.org.au

All staff can be contacted on 03 5383 0613.

Executive Committee Members for 2021/2022

Position Name
Chairperson Joy Sawiche
Deputy Chair Bobby Mehta
Treasurer Andrew Tennant
Assistant Treasurer Phillip Moore
Secretary Magdalena Kazmierczak
Assistant Secretary Nsonma Adeleye
Public Relations Officer Anam Shahab
Interfaith Officer Syed M Sami
Women’s Officer Betty Mathew
Youth Advisor Jerrica Elsa John
Community Representative Navin Thomas
Community Representative Sundram Sivamalai
Community Representative Kiky Amelia
Immediate Past Chair Chez Dichiera

General and Associate Members

Partnerships

Ballarat Regional Multicultural Council respectfully acknowledges the Wadawurrung and Dja Dja Wurrung people, their elders and community leaders, past, present and emerging
– traditional custodians of the land on which we live and work.

BRMC actively promotes intercultural and interfaith harmony. We help build inclusive and diverse communities and economies.
We work with members and partners to strengthen diversity and social cohesion in regional Victoria.

Proudly part of: